ANTOINE_PO2_ID
Home > ISEM Members > Pierre-Olivier Antoine

Pierre-Olivier Antoine

Professor
University of Montpellier

Member of :

Work interests

Originally a specialist in Cenozoic megamammals of the Old World (mostly rhinoceroses: taxonomy, phylogeny and distribution), I have also been working since 2003 on mammalian assemblages in the Tertiary of South America, and more generally on the evolution and dynamics of Neotropical terrestrial and aquatic palaeo-ecosystems over Cenozoic times. This shift allowed me for adopting a much broader vision of evolution, at the scale of ecosystems and in close relation with regional and global abiotic forcings.
I have been coordinating an international and multidisciplinary team (palaeontologists, geologists, and biologists) in Western Amazonia since 2004, in the central Andes since 2011 and in the Caribbean since 2018 (ANR GAARAnti), while continuing to develop my expertise on fossil and living rhinos. Since my beginnings, the fossil specimens that I study come mainly from the field missions I am coordinating or participating in.

Keywords :

Palaeomammalogy – Systematics – Neotropics – Paleoecosystems – Phylogeny

Additional roles and responsibilities :

– Deputy Director of the Institute of Evolutionary Sciences of Montpellier (UM-CNRS-IRD-EPHE) (since 2013)
– Associate editor of CR Palevol (2012>), Geobios (2013>), Palaeovertebrata (2013>), European J of Taxonomy (2013>), Ameghiniana (2016>), J Animal Diversity (2019>)
– President of the Scientific Council (SC) of the Haute-Provence National Geological Nature Reserve (RNNGHP) (2020>)
– Member of the SC of the Initiative d’Avenir ReColNat
– Member of the Advisory Committee of the Sainte-Victoire Geological Reserve
РHead of the Section 36 Commission, Université de Montpellier (2013>)
– Head of the Earth and Water Sciences Degree at UM (LMD4; 2014-21)

The Institute of Evolutionary Science of Montpellier (ISEM – University of Montpellier, CNRS, IRD, EPHE, CIRAD, INRAP) has been focusing research on biodiversity origins and dynamics and the associated evolutionary mechanisms.

ANTOINE_PO2_ID

AccueilMembres ISEM > Pierre-Olivier Antoine

Pierre-Olivier Antoine

Professeur·e
Université de Montpellier

Membre de :

Mon activité

Originellement spécialiste des grands mammifères du Cénozoïque de l’Ancien Monde (surtout rhinocéros : taxonomie, phylogénie et distribution), je travaille également depuis 2003 sur les peuplements mammaliens du Tertiaire d’Amérique du Sud, et plus généralement sur l’évolution et la dynamique des paléo-écosystèmes néotropicaux terrestres et aquatiques au Cénozoïque. Cela m’a permis d’adopter une vision beaucoup plus large de l’évolution, à l’échelle des écosystèmes et en relation étroite avec les forçages abiotiques régionaux et globaux.
Je coordonne une équipe internationale et multidisciplinaire (paléontologues, géologues et biologistes) en Amazonie depuis 2004, dans les Andes depuis 2011 et dans les Caraïbes depuis 2018 (ANR GAARAnti), tout en continuant à valoriser mon expertise sur les rhinocéros fossiles et actuels. Depuis mes débuts, les spécimens fossiles que j’étudie proviennent pour l’essentiel des missions de terrain auxquelles je participe.

Mots-clés :

Paléomammalogie – Systématique – Néotropiques – Paléoécosystèmes – Phylogénie

Responsabilités collectives :

– Directeur-adjoint de l’Institut des Sciences de l’Evolution de Montpellier (UM-CNRS-IRD-EPHE) depuis 2013
– Editeur associé de CR Palevol (2012>), Geobios (2013>), Palaeovertebrata (2013>), European J of Taxonomy (2013>), Ameghiniana (2016>) et J Animal Diversity (2019>)
– Président du Conseil Scientifique de la réserve naturelle nationale géologique de Haute-Provence (RNNGHP) (2020>)
– Membre du Conseil Scientifique de l’Initiative d’Avenir ReColNat
– Membre du Comité Consultatif de la réserve géologique de la Sainte-Victoire (13)
– Responsable de la Commission de Section 36 de l’UM (2013>)
– Responsable de la Licence Sciences de la Terre et de l’Eau de l’UM (LMD4 ; 2014-21)
L’Institut des Sciences de l’Evolution de Montpellier (ISEM) (Université de Montpellier, CNRS, IRD, EPHE, CIRAD, INRAP) développe des recherches qui portent sur l’origine et la dynamique de la biodiversité, et sur les modalités et les mécanismes de son évolution.