Martin_Guillaume_ID2
HomeISEM Members > Guillaume Martin

Guillaume Martin

Researcher
CNRS

Member of :

Work interests

I study the evolutionary and demographic dynamics of populations out of equilibrium, in response to environmental stress(es, via mathematical modelling and experimental evolution. While my general interest lies in adaptation dynamics and evolutionary rescue, I focus mainly on asexuals, facing chemical treatment (antibiotics, fungicides, herbicides, anti-cancer drugs etc.) or biotic stress (predation, immunity, pathogens).

  • I use phenotype-fitness adaptive landscapes (Fisher’s geometrical model) to model the relationship between genotypes and fitness across environmental conditions. I use continuous trait genetics to model (epistatic) fitness component dynamics in space and time.
  • Experimentally, I use fluoro-luminometry: marked E.coli cells (fluorescent + luminescent) are monitored in real-time in a multi-mode plate reader and incubator. The stresses imposed can be antibiotics, essential oils, lytic phages, unicellular predators. I try to impose dynamic stresses as much as possible: pharmacodynamics, biotic stress.

Keywords :

Fisher’s geometric model – Evolutionary rescue – Mutation – Dynamics of adaptation – Experimental evolution

Additional roles and responsibilities :

– Associate Editor for GENETICS (« Theoretical Population Genetics » Section) (2021- 2023)
– Teaching: modelling and evolutionary biology at the Master’s level (Masters DARWIN and MEME, Montpellier University, ~10 to 30h / year)

The Institute of Evolutionary Science of Montpellier (ISEM – University of Montpellier, CNRS, IRD, EPHE, CIRAD, INRAP) has been focusing research on biodiversity origins and dynamics and the associated evolutionary mechanisms.

Martin_Guillaume_ID2

AccueilMembres ISEM > Guillaume Martin

Guillaume Martin

Chargé·e de recherche
CNRS

Membre de :

Mon activité

J’étudie les dynamiques démographiques et évolutives de populations hors équilibre,  en réponse à un ou plusieurs stress environnementaux. Pour cela j’utilise la modélisation mathématique et l’évolution expérimentale. Je m’intéresse à la dynamique de l’adaptation et la rescousse évolutive en général, mais j’étudie surtout les populations asexuées et leur réponse aux traitements chimiques (antibiotiques, fongicides, herbicides, anti-cancéreux etc.) et/ou aux stress biotiques (prédation, immunité, pathogènes).

  • Pour modéliser la relation génotypes-fitness à travers diverses environnements, j’utilise des paysages adaptatifs de type phénotype-fitness (modèle géométrique de Fisher), et la génétique de traits continus et épistatiques (composantes de fitness), dans l’espace et le temps.
  • Expérimentalement, j’utilise la fluoroluminométrie : des populations d’E.coli marquées (fluorescentes + luminescentes) sont suivies en temps réel dans un lecteur-incubateur de microplaques. Les stress imposés peuvent être : antibiotiques, huiles essentielles, phages lytiques, prédateurs unicellulaires. Je tente d’appliquer des stress dynamiques : pharmacodynamique, stress biotiques.

Mots-clés :

Modèle géométrique de Fisher – Sauvetage évolutif – Mutation – Dynamique de l’adaptation – Évolution expérimentale

Responsabilités collectives :

– Editeur Associé pour GENETICS (section « Theoretical Population Genetics ») (2021- 2023)
– Enseignement : modélisation et biologie évolutive en Master 1 et 2 (Masters DARWIN et MEME Université de Montpellier, ~ 10 à 30h/an)
L’Institut des Sciences de l’Evolution de Montpellier (ISEM) (Université de Montpellier, CNRS, IRD, EPHE, CIRAD, INRAP) développe des recherches qui portent sur l’origine et la dynamique de la biodiversité, et sur les modalités et les mécanismes de son évolution.