Hammel_Maurine_ID2
HomeISEM Members > Maurine Hammel

Maurine Hammel

PhD student
University of Montpellier

Member of :

Work interests

My PhD project is part of the study of transmissible cancers which raise many fundamental questions: How and why do they emerge? How long do they evolve? What are their ecological and evolutionary consequences on host populations? By combining genetics and evolutionary genomics, functional biology and immunology skills, I’m trying to better understand a transmissible cancer which has recently been demonstrated in populations of Mytilus sp. mussels. Through experimental and empirical approaches, we are seeking to understand the evolutionary history and dynamics of this particular parasite and its interactions with host organisms (response to cancer).
More broadly, I’m interested in multidisciplinary approaches integrating the sciences of evolution (evolutionary medicine, evolutionary ecology, phylodynamics, etc.) to better understand complex systems of interactions between organisms and their environment.

Keywords :

Transmissible cancer – Mytilus sp. mussels – Evolutionnary genetics – Host-parasite interaction – Immunological response

PhD supervisor(s) :

Guillaume Charrière (IHPE)

The Institute of Evolutionary Science of Montpellier (ISEM – University of Montpellier, CNRS, IRD, EPHE, CIRAD, INRAP) has been focusing research on biodiversity origins and dynamics and the associated evolutionary mechanisms.

Hammel_Maurine_ID2

AccueilMembres ISEM > Maurine Hammel

Maurine Hammel

Doctorant·e
Université de Montpellier

Membre de :

Mon activité

Mon projet de thèse s’inscrit dans l’étude des cancers transmissibles qui suscitent de nombreuses questions fondamentales : Comment et pourquoi émergent-ils? Combien de temps évoluent-ils? Quelles sont les conséquences écologiques et évolutives sur les populations hôtes? En combinant des compétences en génétique et génomique évolutive, en biologie fonctionnelle et en immunologie, je cherche à mieux comprendre ce type de cancer qui a récemment été mis en évidence dans des populations de moules du genre Mytilus sp. Par des approches expérimentales et empiriques, nous cherchons ainsi à appréhender l’histoire et la dynamique évolutive de ce parasite particulier et de ses interactions avec les organismes hôtes (réponse face au cancer).
Plus largement, je m’intéresse aux approches pluridisciplinaires intégrant les sciences de l’évolution (médecine évolutive, écologie évolutive, phylodynamique, etc.) pour mieux comprendre des systèmes d’interactions complexes entre des organismes et leur environnement.

Mots-clés :

Cancer transmissible – Moules Mytilus sp – Génétique évolutive – Interaction hôte-parasite – Réponse immunitaire

Directeur·ice(s) de thèse :

Guillaume Charrière (IHPE)
L’Institut des Sciences de l’Evolution de Montpellier (ISEM) (Université de Montpellier, CNRS, IRD, EPHE, CIRAD, INRAP) développe des recherches qui portent sur l’origine et la dynamique de la biodiversité, et sur les modalités et les mécanismes de son évolution.