Barthe_M_ID
HomeISEM Members > Mathilde Barthe

Mathilde Barthe

PhD student
CNRS

Member of :

Work interests

My thesis with Frederic Delsuc is based on a project that will study both molecular convergence to the myrmecophagous diet and also will allow to carry out species delimitation at the genomic scale within xenarthran species.
The first part of the project will aim to complete the ongoing analyses on the coding fraction of the genomes of myrmecophagous mammals by studying the now non-coding fraction. Thus, comparative analyses on more than 150 mammalian genomes will be conducted in order to identify changes in the non-coding regions associated with convergence to the myrmecophagous diet.
The second part of the project will exploit the reference genomes of xenarthran species to implement species delimitation studies based on the re-sequencing of individuals. These analyses will improve the understanding of gene flow and local adaptations for three species complexes: the nine-banded armadillo (Dasypus novemcinctus), the silky anteater (Cyclopes didactylus), and the three-toed sloths (Bradypus spp.).

Keywords :

Molecular convergence – Regulatory regions – Species complex – Adaptation genomics – Bioinformatics

PhD supervisor(s) :

The Institute of Evolutionary Science of Montpellier (ISEM – University of Montpellier, CNRS, IRD, EPHE, CIRAD, INRAP) has been focusing research on biodiversity origins and dynamics and the associated evolutionary mechanisms.

Barthe_M_ID

AccueilMembres ISEM > Mathilde Barthe

Mathilde Barthe

Doctorant·e
CNRS

Membre de :

Mon activité

Je réalise ma thèse auprès de Frédéric Delsuc sur un projet qui visera à étudier à la fois la convergence moléculaire au régime alimentaire myrmécophage et permettra également de réaliser des délimitations d’espèces à l’échelle génomique au sein des xénarthres.
La première partie du projet visera à compléter les analyses en cours sur la fraction codante des génomes de mammifères myrmécophages en étudiant la fraction non-codante du génome. Ainsi des analyses comparatives sur plus de 150 génomes de mammifères seront menées afin d’identifier des changements dans les régions non-codantes associées à la convergence au régime alimentaire myrmécophage.
La deuxième partie du projet exploitera les génomes de référence des espèces de xénarthres pour implémenter des études de délimitation d’espèces basées sur le re-séquençage d’individus. Ces analyses permettront d’améliorer la compréhension notamment des flux génique et des adaptations locales pour trois complexes d’espèces : le tatou à neuf bandes (Dasypus novemcinctus), le fourmilier nain (Cyclopes didactylus), et les paresseux à trois-doigts (Bradypus spp.).

Mots-clés :

Convergence moléculaire – Régions régulatrices – Complexe d’espèce – Génomique de l’adaptation – Bioinformatique

Directeur·ice(s) de thèse :

L’Institut des Sciences de l’Evolution de Montpellier (ISEM) (Université de Montpellier, CNRS, IRD, EPHE, CIRAD, INRAP) développe des recherches qui portent sur l’origine et la dynamique de la biodiversité, et sur les modalités et les mécanismes de son évolution.